Liberals and Conservatives


Liberals and conservatives stand at opposites, and they seem to grow more and more polarized as the years have gone on. Well-informed liberals and conservatives can see the exact same information and come to different conclusions regarding solutions to issues. Why is that? It is tempting to just say, “different strokes for different folks,” but I suspect their is more to it than that. I think the reason for the divide is much more fundamental than that. Liberals and conservatives deep down have different ways of looking at the world. One group, the liberals, see the world as getting better, and the other group, the conservatives, see it as getting worse.

But, this is a false dichotomy. There are things in the world which have gotten better with time, and there are things in the world which have gotten worse. I’m sure we can all agree that the divide between communities and police have gotten worse, and climate change continues. Still, many things are better. Segregation is gone. Slavery is gone, and women can vote.

As for me, I neither stand with liberals or conservatives. I tend take a part each issue on it’s own. I can’t say that I’m a liberal, conservative, or moderate. I’m neither an alarmist, who believes the world is going to hell, nor am I overly optimistic that we have a bright future ahead.